How Long is the Wait?

Have you ever been told that you just have to wait? Be patient? 

Well, I’ve been told that a lot lately. Not that I have nothing to do. In contrary, my “to-do” list is longer than even I want to imagine. But as a med student, I’ve officially added “waiting” as a skill to my limited set of life skills. 

Waiting for the consultant. Waiting for the registrar. Waiting for skills labs. Waiting for class. Waiting for communication as to what needs to be done. Waiting for a patient. Waiting for that patient to say goodbye to a family member or loved one before going to theatre. 

I’m currently waiting for an afternoon anatomy practical/dissection that starts at 14h00. 

It is difficult to wait and not complain, I admit, I struggle with it. But sometimes, in the waiting we must see the beauty in life, and always remember to be kind. 

As they say “Kindness is the language that the deaf can hear and the blind can see”.

Lamentations 3:25 ~ The LORD is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him (KJV).

2 Comments

  1. Yes, patience is a virtue – I had to learn it too. I read somewhere: “Patience is not the ability to wait, but the ability to keep a good attitude while waiting.” So there you go … keep a good attitude 🙂.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. life matters says:

      Thank you for your comment😊. Wow, yes that quote is so true, thanks for sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment