Pearls of Wisdom

In my clinicals/hospital rotations so far, I’ve maybe learnt the greatest wisdom of all – knowing I know very very little.

Often, or more truthfully, every day, I see a patient with a condition or illness I know nothing about. I’ve learnt that much of wisdom acquired in life, is through experience.

Therefore, I try and see every day as a day where I have the opportunity to build up as much experience – wisdom – as possible. I see myself as though I’m a “dry sponge” every morning; and soaking up knowledge, experience, and wisdom throughout the day – ending with the sponge soaked wet – me knowing a little bit more about life than the day before.

In addition, I like to think of putting on God’s wisdom “on” in trials. Personally, I’ve faced many trials recently, where I honestly didn’t know how I would make it through the next day. Somehow I’ve made it thus far.

A quick reminder of God’s wisdom in trials:

– Pray. Pray to God during trials, that He can give you the wisdom to properly respond to your suffering.

– Wisdom is seeing all of life: The good days, the sad days, the difficult days.

– Wisdom is knowing that God has a plan and a purpose in your suffering.

– Wisdom is understanding that God’s ways are as high the heavens, far above our human ways.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” ~ Isaiah 55:8-9 (KJV)

5 Comments

  1. Ruth Kirk says:

    I loved this, and understand what you mean about God having a purpose for our suffering – lots of purposes, I think. I’m chronically ill, and have started saying a little prayer multiple times each day, asking God to use my suffering for the forgiveness of sins and the salvation of souls, which I find helpful. I don’t know how God does this, but I think it’s something to do with willingly accepting and embracing suffering, rather than feeling angry or self-pitying about it. Thank you so much for your blogs, and I wish you well for your training. NB I used to work as a counsellor for medical students at a UK university.
    ✝️ May God bless you every day XXXXX

    Liked by 1 person

    1. life matters says:

      ❤️ thank you so much for your kind and uplifting comment. I’m so sorry, suffering from chronic pain is never easy. Agreed, I always just try and think that God’s ways are much better and beyond our imagination. And that to everything there is a time & purpose, as read in Ecclesiates. I guess that’s what keeps me going in difficult times; leaning on God to be my comfort & the stronghold in my distress. Thank you so very much, I appreciate the wishes a lot. Wow, that’s amazing, nice to know. I think as med students, we suffer more than we think mentally🙈Have a wonderful day XXXX

      Like

      1. Ruth Kirk says:

        Thank you so much! Yes, med students have a very hard time. I saw such a lot of suffering in that job. My way forward is to say, “yes”, to suffering, and to thank God for it. Good can come out even the very worst sorrow, and nothing is ever wasted XXXXX

        Liked by 1 person

      2. life matters says:

        So much truth in this comment. You just made my day, thanks so much❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ruth Kirk says:

    Bless you! xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment